Skip navigation |

Media releases

Judicial Office news releases relating to the Costs Review.

16 April 2012
Announcement regarding Lord Justice Jackson


20 January 2011
Proposals for reform of civil litigation funding and costs in England and Wales: Lord Justice Jackson response


14 January 2010
Jackson Review calls for a package of reforms to rein in the costs of civil justice


30 November 2009
Publication date announced for Lord Justice Jackson's Final Report of his Civil Litigation Cost Review


8 May 2009
Lord Justice Jackson Publishes Preliminary Findings of his Civil Litigation Cost Review
Lord Justice Jackson has published the preliminary report in his Review of Civil Litigation Costs.The report is a major piece of work, deriving from four months of fact-finding, research and receiving submissions.

Related link: Civil Litigation Cost Review Preliminary report


5 November 2008
Statement by Bridget Prentice MP, Minister for Justice Review into Civil Litigation Costs

The Master of the Rolls has appointed Lord Justice Jackson to lead a fundamental review into the costs of civil litigation.

Bridget Prentice MP, Minister for Justice, said; "The Ministry of Justice welcomes the Review of Civil Costs announced by the Master of the Rolls today. I look forward to receiving and considering Lord Justice Jackson's findings in due course.

I would like to make clear that the review is not intended to, and will not, delay progress on the various specific initiatives that are currently being taken forward on civil costs. Nor will the fact that a fundamental review is underway prevent implementation of any reforms of the costs system that might be appropriate."


3 November 2008
Lord Justice Jackson appointed to undertake review of civil costs

The Master of the Rolls has appointed Lord Justice Jackson to lead a fundamental review into the costs of civil litigation.

The review will commence in January 2009, and the findings are due to be presented to the Master of the Rolls in December 2009. Lord Justice Jackson will be the sole author of the final report, but he will be assisted in the review by a small group of 'assessors', drawn from the judiciary, legal profession and an economist. The review group are due to meet monthly to discuss issues and findings.

 

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Judicial Office website. To find out more about the cookies, see our privacy policy.